On a Learning Curve

Life may not be easy, but it's always an adventure.

Signs of the Times

Leave a comment

Yes, I am bad at regularly updating my blog. I wrote half of a post last week, and you can guess that I never finished that one. Instead of knocking myself out to write something meaningful, I thought I’d share a few pictures with you. As my title suggests, I am surrounded by signs.

Want to take a guess who created this thought-provoking beauty?

DSCN0686

This one is courtesy of H, my 6-year-old budding philosopher. I have no idea what inspired this deep thought today, and I love that the meaning changes depending on where you decide to place punctuation.

I am surrounded by H’s signs these days. To the back of the front door, she taped a birthday card for the brothers she has yet to meet. On the refrigerator is a Valentine’s sign that she made me; she gets big Brownie points for that since her big sisters told me that they “forgot.” Next to the downstairs bathroom is a giant thermometer. She used two full pieces of paper and colored most of the thermometer blue on Monday morning when S was having a sick day.

Speaking of sick days, that is another reason that I haven’t been writing. S woke up on Monday with a blood glucose of 407. That’s an all-time high for a pre-breakfast number. (Usually she has to sneak a handful of dried raisins and “forget” to tell me or to bolus for them.) She also was spilling large ketones and told me she was going to vomit. I thought we were going to have a repeat of her trip to the ER three months ago. Instead, we loaded her up with insulin, gave her half a Zofran, and filled her up with fluids once her nausea subsided. We said a lot of prayers, too. Miraculously–I’m really not overusing the word–we flushed out those ketones in three hours. I believe in prayer. And now I believe in Zofran, too.

Soccer season started this week, too, so that’s another distraction to add to the list. I made it through the first clinic of the season, ordered uniforms for new players, scheduled a last-minute scrimmage, and wrote out a few practice plans. So what if tomorrow’s high is 40° colder than today, right?

That’s why I think this next sign is a perfect reminder for how to approach hectic, harried days.

DSCN0687

Again, I cannot explain the origin of this sign. I’m going to assume that this is not a comment on my driving skills.

Ryan called last week, too. I love that I still am thrilled to hear my husband’s voice after 15 years of doing his laundry. I’m thankful, too, that’s he was safely out of country last week during a violent incident. I’m really looking forward to his return. We’ve made it past the halfway mark of this deployment, and we’re almost ready to start the countdown to his return. When we figure out the exact date, we’ll let H make a few more signs to help us pass the days.

Leave a Reply

