On a Learning Curve

Life may not be easy, but it's always an adventure.

Busy!

Leave a comment

In a word, the title describes our last week. We started our school year on Monday, squeezed in 2 biofeedback sessions, a 6-year-old well check, 2 haircuts, art lessons, and a soccer practice where we didn’t actually play any soccer. Yesterday Ryan shuttled 2 children off to a friend’s house so that he could go to work while I dragged S to my mandatory coaches’ clinic before we left for a Scrimmage Fest. Fast forward through four 25-minute soccer scrimmages, and all 5 of us joined up again at our church’s annual summer picnic. Whew! What a week!

None of that includes my Ragnar training either. I totaled 31 miles over 4 days and 5 runs this week. That’s the most I’ve run in one week ever, and that also includes the 13.1 that I ran this morning with my friend Tracy. Our fearless team leader revealed our leg assignments this week. While I’m a little bummed about my low total mileage, I’m a little apprehensive about my first leg. At just 4.1 miles, it comes with a Very Hard description. Perhaps the graph can shed some light on the reason.

Those brown ridges are also known as the Appalachian Mountains!

My next leg looks more promising and much greener. I’ll be running the rolling hills of the Antietam Battlefield.

Green on a map is good, right?

My last leg is an easy, flat 3.7 mile run on Rock Creek Trail in Bethesda. Since that should occur at some point nearing 24 hours, I’m thinking that leg will be a blessing.

So much is going on right now, and the girls have been taking turns complaining about their school days. Somehow they believe that life would be perfect if I just packed their lunches in brown bags and marched them to the bus stop in the morning. Sure it would. And public schools don’t make students learn math, science, reading, or history. I shudder as I imagine what would happen if G or S gave a classroom teacher the same dirty looks that they shoot at me. Sigh. Tomorrow’s the start of a new week, and I’m hoping for happier pupils.

On the science side, we’re on another butterfly watch. I sacrificed my 2 enormous parsley plants to a group of black swallowtail caterpillars last week. In exchange, we now have 2.5 chrysallises waiting to becomes butterflies. Tomorrow there should be 3 fully formed chrysallises.

I’m going to end this post on a humorous note. H and I read The Story about Ping last week as we completed a unit study on China, ducks, and water. On Tuesday we were doing a language arts lesson about the difference between fiction and non-fiction. We read a series of books that began with “Once upon a time,” and I was trying to get H to say the answer without me telling her. On my third attempt, I asked her what she would call a book that was not real and contained a story that someone made up. She already had 2 strikes, so she looked at me and replied, “A false religion.” I love H, and I told her that her answer was very close since it started with the same letter. Then we all collapsed into laughter, and I gave her a big hug.

 

Leave a Reply

