On a Learning Curve

Life may not be easy, but it's always an adventure.

An Orange Tomato

Leave a comment

My morning surprise

My morning surprise


Another day brought another inch of rain; the mosquitoes have multiplied by some incalculable amount; and my hair has shrunk up to my chin. These are my early morning discoveries today. (Oh, and there is no swim practice today in honor of the Fourth of July!) But the nicest surprise this morning was this orange beauty waiting for me in my teeny, tiny, two-row garden. I carved this little plot out by examining where the sun breaks through the trees in our shade-soaked yard. It’s quite sunny during fall and winter, and I think we average a mere 4 hours of sun after the trees sprout their leaves in spring. It’s not an ideal vegetable plot, and my mother has poked fun at my efforts to grow vegetation. (So it took 4 full months to harvest our broccoli. That’s not slow, right?) But seeing this bit of orange today delights me in a childlike way.

Leave a Reply

